9781460225493Recently, I was at my doctor’s office getting a physical. We were talking about his group’s new offices and whether or not they would be permanent. He said, “Doctors doing real estate…oy vey, who knows?” He then went on to discuss how doctors, lawyers, and businessmen are often those who think that because they are good at what they do, they can be good at telling others how to do their work. Of course, I chuckled. It sounded very familiar.

He told me that the best patients he has are teachers, because no matter how brilliant they are, they know their limitations and would not dare tell a doctor how to perform surgery. Again, I chuckled. But this time I told him how education is exactly like his example of doctors in real estate. It was the abridged version, as he was taking my blood pressure at the time.

We finally discussed how his role as a doctor as more and more being dictated by the drug and insurance company “medical experts” is exactly like how our roles as teachers are more and more being dictated by corporate “education experts”—in both cases for huge profits. Then I recruited him to join SOS.http://www.friesenpress.com/bookstore/title/119734000011426145

