DCGEducator: Doing The Right Thing

Since writing my book, Doing The Right Thing: A Teacher Speaks, I have become much more sensitive to how media, in its many guises, lets slip some of the facts that show how wealth, poverty, economics, and politics all have a place in the education policy being controlled by those with the money. All you have to do is keep your eyes open and put pieces of the puzzle together. That happened over the past two days.

 

Yesterday I received my monthly copy of Westchester Magazine, a high end, high gloss, celebration of everything money can buy in Westchester County, where I live. This month’s feature was devoted (as it is annually) to highlighting education. To its credit the magazine spotlighted  fabulous student-teacher relationships from several schools in the county. Then there was the “centerfold”. Literally! Every year the centerfold is a chart (spreadsheet) comparing all the high…

View original post 882 more words

