This exchange actually happened between an old friend and his new “supervisor”.

Dear Mr. Keller:  I plan on observing you on Wednesday, the 12th in the early morning.
Kindly have a copy of your observation ready for me when I arrive in your class.
Just a reminder, the lesson should include a clear aim, vocabulary, stimulate student thinking, engage kids in the learning process and tie in to the Common Core State Standards around literacy.  Reminder–I will focus in on what the students are doing and learning–
Any questions, reach out to me.
Best,
J.

Saturday, March 08, 2014 1:37 PM

You replied on 3/8/2014 1:41 PM.

J,

I am a little confused. For one thing, I haven’t even gotten to the school yet. For another thing, if this is the school I think it is, this school is just about exclusively ELL’s who have only recently come to this country. I have no knowledge of their abilities or what they are currently learning, or if the prinicipal would be willing to “give up a class” for that purpose.

I am not averse to teaching a lesson, but I think it should be meaningful and have some purpose other than to just satisfy a “requirement”, especially since my terminal leave is scheduled to begin effective April 1st.

